What I Use

I like to think of myself has a technologie enthusiast. It doesn’t matter if the technology is focused on just computers or the basic understanding of how to start a fire. Everything tto me is really intresting and I like to figure out how things work.

Primary Desktop PC

My desktop computer is a custom made NZXT Phantom black and orange full tower PC with a 3.5 GHz Core i7-4770K (fourth-gen Core “Haswell”) processor, 16 GB of DDR3 RAM, a 256 GB Samsung SSD, a 3 TB 7200 RPM SeaGate Barracuda HDD, an NVIDA GTX6670 SC (with 4GB DDR5 RAM), and a ASUS DVD burner.

This PC is connected to a 26-inch BENQ GL2450-B display running at 1920 x 1080, a RAZER Deathstalker, Deathadder 2013 (I highly recommend both), and RAZER Kraken Pro Neon Orange headset (also recommended).

I have recently acquired a 27-inch monitor.

Primary Notebook PC

NEW: My new notebook is a HP Elitebook 8560w. With the wife working at HP and getting this for a great price, I knew this machine would be perfect for me: It features a 1.7 GHz Intel Core i5-3317U processor, an a 15-inch matte screen running at 1920 x 1080, 8 GB of RAM, a 750 GB HDD, and a decent back-lit keyboard. It weighs about 7 pounds. This currently runs Windows Server 2012 Datacenter as a test environment.

Tablet

Do not have a tablet at this time.

Servers

Currently using an HP Elitebook with Hyper-V installed. It usually runs a very basic testing VM’s. This HP Elitebook was upgraded to have a 500 GB SSD and 32 GB RAM. I run my Virtual Machines on a very low requirements for the product that is being used. I also turn off the machines that I do not need to conserve on the host hardware.

Virtual Machines
Domain Controller
MSSQL Server
Production Server
Web Server
File Server
Empty Server –

Smart Phone

My phone is currently provided by my employer. Samsung Galaxy S8 64GB with an unlimited data plan.

eBook reader

I own both the Amazon Kindle Fire (base version, 2011), and Kindle Paperwhite. I use the Kindle Paperwhite more for reading.

Tablet

NEW: I use an Amazon Kindle Fire (First Gen, 2011), which runs my Netflix and Chromecast

If you have any questions about my gear, please comment below.

Leave a Reply

